The wounded healer


For Jung, “a good half of every treatment that probes at all deeply consists in the doctor’s examining himself… it is his own hurt that gives a measure of his power to heal. This, and nothing else, is the meaning of the Greek myth of the wounded physician.

I have just read a great article about depression and doctors and how poorly it is managed amongst doctors. But the concept of a wounded healer has always fascinated me. As has healing. As have healers.

I am intrigued that is takes wounding to heal. And yet I guess in a karma kind of way it makes sense.

Indeed intriguing that there is power to heal. Frightening on some level.

History also confounds me and implores me to explore it. Ancient texts and characters of the past beckon to me to learn from them. Long before modern medicine existed healing existed. Long before the dawn of todays many western ideas ancient cultures treated dis ease successfully. We are here after all and did not die out as a species.

I respect deeply the ancients. I respect suffering and wounding. In a sense it is a teacher.

Grappling with self, wrestling with self is possibly also a part of this?

Wounded. In a process of healing.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

