A lovely discovery – Ingrid Jonker


What a lovely discovery of poetry last night. I watched the movie Black Butterflies about Ingrid Jonker’s life. Oh my shattered nerves ! She writes beautifully.

A very sad life indeed but the pressure of life sure squeezed out pure gold in poetry. I was in awe that this ladies poems have alluded me thus far in life. I am older than she was when she tragically committed suicide and having grown up in south africa I would have thought that I should have bumped into “her” already.

However great is my joy to find such a soul and such scintillating words on paper.

This land of ours, despite all our troubles and imperfection – and there is a lot of that particularly our apartheid past and it’s sordidness, produces phenomenal talent.

I highly recommend this movie – cast to perfection and well acted.

I also highly recommend a read of Ingrid Jonker – it will touch your heart deeply.black-butterflies

 

Leave a Reply

